New Direction For An Old Advisor

Posted: July 27, 2012 in Estate Planning, Inherited IRA Planning, Real Estate Planning, Roth IRA Planning, Tax Planning

Is Your Head in the SandO.K., I admit it. I had my head in the sand. And, as a financial advisor, I was wrong. For 36 years, dead wrong. I believed what the banking, insurance, and securities markets preached to me. What did they preach?

They told me that if you are going to invest in a Keogh plan (yea, I’ve been around a long time I know), a defined benefit or defined contribution company retirement plan, or in an IRA type retirement savings account – that your 3 choices came down to bank, insurance agent, or securities broker products only. Nobody told me a Realtor could help me fund an IRA with, you guessed it – Real Estate! That was the only list of advisors you could open an account with and I believed it just like consumers still today believe it.

Since I was not a banker,as a financial consultant I choose to put client money for the last 36 years into insurance and securities products. It never dawned on me to open my eyes up when I got my real estate license 10 years ago. There was no training on how to sell a self-directed IRA account with real estate. In fact, in my recent real estate continued education classes, nobody mentioned you could help clients buy real estate inside their current IRA plans.

But, I was misinformed. And stupid to believe the lie and embrace the conspiracy to defraud investors of the chance of a lifetime to pick up a property or two inside their own self-directed IRA account. No one found out they could be in control and not dependent on advisors who didn’t tell them the WHOLE truth. Mostly because they knew they would not get paid. (Few insurance agents and securities agents are dual licensed in real estate as I am)  So, it all changed in May 2012. I woke up, saw the light and I changed my tune. I re-programmed by websites to spread the word and started a great work with my The Key To Success - SDIRAlocal RE/MAX franchise owner here in Mesa, Arizona.

Consider firing your current IRA advisors and joining me in this revolution of sorts. Since only 3% of American Retirement Plan owners have taken advantage of buying real estate with their IRA funds, the opportunity is wide open. Recent news articles tell us that as people find out, millions transfer out of bank, insurance and securities accounts and into self-directed custodial accounts every week now. Most are buying real estate with their new found powers.

You can take control, be the boss, and answer to no one but yourself too. Self-directing your own IRA is not rocket science, just a process that is different then your current programs. By partnering with an independent company, we  check your suitability up front to see if it fit’s your investment style and philosophy. If so, professional financial advisors with decades of experience offer assistance to you all along the way.

Since you don’t know what is coming in economic and political changes, more and more people are gravitating back to real estate as the safest place to invest or even store their money in case hard economic times come. Don’t let your advisor shield you from the complete market of products you are eligible to invest in. With lower prices and a bottomed out market pretty well taking place nationwide, buying real inside with your IRA or 401k plan may be exactly what you have been looking for!

 

M.D. Anderson, IRA Director, Realtor

RE/MAX DIAMOND

Mesa, AZ

Direct Line: 480-258-3634

Leave a Reply

